Coffee Creations with Le Pain Quotidien

It’s been a while since my lips have touched even a drop of coffee. And when I say “a while” I really mean close to 2 years. I’m a journalist (I do have a job outside of blogging), and there are certain stereotypes that people attach to us – one of those stereotypes is our weird affection with coffee. I won’t go into detail but I used to drink about 25 cups of coffee a week. And on Sundays, I had to drink more than 8 cups just to stay awake between 2 shifts. It got pretty bad so I ultimately stopped cold turkey. Surprisingly, it has actually been pretty easy. No one ever forces me to drink coffee. Alcohol, yes. Coffee? Not so much.

IMG_7501This week, I attended a “Pamper & Pick Me Up” event at Le Pain Quotidien and I can’t say wholeheartedly that I will continue this ban against coffee. Coffee is rich with antioxidants, and studies have shown that people who drink it are:

  • less likely to have type 2 diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, and dementia
  • have fewer cases of certain cancers, heart rhythm problems, and strokes

It’s even better for you when it’s organic! So you can see why I couldn’t possibly turn down a cup of freshly IMG_7518brewed coffee from LPQ. That evening, I learned about the many benefits of drinking coffee, made tiramisu (meaning “pick me up” or “lift me up”), and made my own organic coffee masks. I can’t wait to try out this new organic beauty treatment!


 ORGANIC COFFEE MASK RECIPE

1 cup Le Pain Quotidien Organic Ground Coffee
5 tablespoons Organic Yogurt
3 tablespoons Le Pain Quotidien Organic Honey

Photo Credit: Le Pain QuotidienPhoto Credit: Le Pain Quotidien

*Mix all of these ingredients together and then spread evenly over the face. Let it settle for 10-15 minutes, and rinse and massage to exfoliate.

IMG_7499

Oscar Wilde once said “Everything in moderation, including moderation.” I’m still learning how to do that, but what better way to start than with a cup of organic coffee.

International Coffee Day is Monday, September 29, 2015. Le Pain Quotidien will be giving out FREE coffee. Bring your own cup & don’t miss out! Find a location near you.

 PHOTOS COURTESY OF LE PAIN QUOTIDIEN 

2 thoughts on “Coffee Creations with Le Pain Quotidien

    • That’s good! I love coffee and am learning how to enjoy the taste and not just drinking it for the caffeine. Also, you HAVE to make the mask. I tried it on for the first time this morning and my skin is thanking me for it! 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

