REVIEW: My Amazing Blow Dry Secret


This week I tried My Amazing Blow DScreen Shot 2014-07-03 at 7.43.16 PMry Secret for the first time. I have to say, I was a bit disappointed. The products actually smell really good – which may be the only thing I liked about it. First: the shampoo…I felt like it did nothing for my hair. I had to put double the amount of product I would normally lather my hair with just to get the same amount of foam/suds I’d get from other store brand shampoos. The consistency is similar to Herbal Essences, but it felt so watered down. I checked the chemicals and ingredients that are used in the shampoo and conditioner, but did not find any harsh chemicals. For reference, if you ever want to know what’s in your product, I recommend using the HERA Project or the Center for Environmental Health. They recently announced that they’ve reached a first-ever legal agreement with major companies to end the use of the cancer-causing chemical cocamide DEA in shampoos and other personal care products. I also used Cosmetics Info, which is very user-friendly. You can search any chemical and figure out what’s in your product.

Second: the conditioner. I felt like my hair was actually drier after the first time I used it. The second time around, I used double the amount of product but got the same results. It weighed my hair down and I didn’t get the light and bouncy feel I am familiar with when using other store brand conditioners.

Third: the Shake’n Spray Quick Dry. I guess it worked because it dried my hair in almost half the time it normally takes (between 10-15 minutes). The bottle advertises that it is color safe, repairs, shines, and detangles. My only issue with this product is that it didn’t give my hair that natural shine I was hoping for.

In all, my hair smelled great both times after I used it. I just wish it left my hair feeling more soft and light. My Amazing Blow Dry Secret wasn’t much of a secret in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

